top of page

Raven Chacon

For Zitkála-Šá

Toronto, Canada/Los Angeles, USA: Art Metropole/New Documents, 2022

128 pp.., 24.2 × 33.7 cm., softcover

Edition size unknown



Released last year - a few months after Raven Chacon became the first indigenous composer to be awarded a Pulitzer Prize - For Zitkála-Šá collects a series of scores that pay tribute to the Yankton Dakota writer, musician, and activist. These works were written to be performed by thirteen contemporary female Indigenous performing artists: Buffy Sainte-Marie, Laura Ortman, Cheryl L’Hirondelle, Suzanne Kite, Barbara Croall, Jacqueline Wilson, Autumn Chacon, Heidi Senungetuk, Ange Loft, Joy Harjo, Carmina Escobar, Olivia Shortt, and the artist’s partner, Candice Hopkins. 


The book is supplemented by texts by each artist and a contextualizing essay by Chacon.


For Zitkála-Šá | Raven Chacon

    bottom of page